Big In Japan would also serve as significant inspiration to scores of future electronic music musicians within “our thing”, as Canadian scene magazine I Die: You Die likes to refer to it. Most heard Gold’s work and decided to create their own similarly styled sound. Some, like today’s featured Fair Control, just copied it outright. In the days before sampling became a popular trend, keyboardists Bernd Göke and Hannes Schöner just straight up copied the track, tweaked it, rewrote the lyrics and pressed this 12” on Ariola in 1986. Decisively derivative (and complete with invisible guitar leads featured prominently in this TV video cut), Fair Control had no shame. Nearly thirty years later, it’s inspired me to dance around my hotel room in my boxers (also shamelessly) to the sweet sounds of my own symphony of love.

